Let’s stop wanting to save Africa

0
140

December, time to take stock! Without dwelling on the past too much or underlining the heavy burden placed on the performances of the ACP-countries in general and those of Africa in particular by the perils of the global economy, it is safe to say that 2017 has – notwithstanding a brief and fragile upward curve at the end of the year- prolonged the bleak outlook already prevailing in previous years.

Yet the Continent has a dynamic private sector at its disposal, a population with an entrepreneurial talent, and an abundance of raw materials; in short, assets aplenty. Which is why it could have, should have achieved a more substantial and sustained growth than it has done. Then why is it that every time an improvement is lurking around the corner they simply fail to materialize?

One of the mechanics behind this inertia is probably due to decennia of “good” intentions, i.e. state-to-state development aid, support (not to use the word “intervention”) of major institutions, or actions of thousands of charity organisations heaped upon the Continent by the West in general and particularly Europe. This condescending influx of aid has above all numbed the creative spirit of the Africans.

No wonder that ever since the seventies the national revenue of the African countries has systematically been inferior to their domestic production. This proves that a significant part of the local capital is in foreign hands in exchange for the aid mentioned above. Which de facto and in situ leads to reiterating and hardly suppressible foreign calls for expropriation. It isn’t hard to understand that these repeated threats of confiscation are a major obstacle for any economic growth. As a result, countries often succumb to endless changes of government, some administrations calling for nationalizing foreign assets, others protecting them.

We can find still other reasons behind the limited economic growth related to the colonial past and hence no longer in play, but it is not necessary to list them here for us to realize it is high time to change tack, it is high time to reconsider our basic premises, it is high time to stop wanting to save Africa! Africa is perfectly able to save itself! As long as the rest of the planet treats the Continent on a basis of equality, Africa possesses the means to do so, whatever is said and whatever the “confusion” on the subject may be.

Following the example of the Asian countries, who caught up with more developed countries without massive foreign investment but by auto-financing their physical and human potential and by raising their education levels, why would Africa not be able to do the same and take the road to a long term economic growth, as for instance Botswana currently exemplifies? The entrepreneurial frame of mind is alive and kicking in Africa, up to us to go and find it to create the world of tomorrow, together and in partnership. That is my wish for all of you come 2018!

Arrêtons de vouloir sauver l’Afrique.

0
456

Décembre, le mois des bilans ! Sans s’appesantir sur le passé ni souligner le poids des périls de l’économie mondiale sur les performances de la zone ACP en général et celles de l’Afrique en particulier, l’année 2017 a, malgré une reprise fragile en fin d’année, prolongé la morosité qui prévalait déjà les années précédentes.

Cependant disposant d’un secteur privé dynamique, d’une population douée d’un esprit d’entreprise et de ressources naturelles abondantes, ce Continent a des atouts certains et aurait pu, aurait dû développer une croissance plus alerte et plus soutenue. Alors depuis le temps que l’on y perçoit une éventuelle embellie il n’est pas innocent de se demander ce qui manque pour déclencher ce renouveau.

Une des raisons de cette inertie est probablement initiée par des décennies de ‘bonnes’ intentions, que ce soit par l’aide au développement d’Etat à Etat, par le support (pour ne pas dire : par l’intervention) de grandes institutions ou encore par l’action de milliers d’organisations caritatives que l’Occident en général et l’Europe en particulier ont déversées sur le Continent. En générant plein de condescendance, ces flux d’aides ont surtout oblitéré toute initiative créatrice de la part des africains.

Comment s’étonner dès lors que depuis les années 70 le revenu national dont disposent les africains est systématiquement inférieur à la production intérieure de leur pays. Ceci démontre qu’une partie non négligeable du capital local est, en échange des aides reprises plus haut, possédée par des étrangers entraînant de facto sur place des appels récurrents et presque irrépressibles d’expropriation. Il est aisé de comprendre que ces menaces de confiscation répétées sont une entrave majeure à toute croissance économique. Il en résulte que les Etats sombrent souvent dans d’interminables alternances de gouvernements, les uns prônant la nationalisation des avoirs étrangers, les autres protégeant les propriétaires et leurs intérêts locaux.

Nous pouvons trouver d’autres causes à une croissance économique restreinte, comme certaines spécialisations issues des options coloniales qui ne sont plus porteuses aujourd’hui, mais il n’est pas nécessaire de les énumérer toutes pour se rendre compte qu’il est grand temps de revoir notre copie ; il est grand temps de reconsidérer nos postulats de base ; il est grand temps d’arrêter de vouloir sauver l’Afrique ! L’Afrique est parfaitement capable de se sauver elle-même. Pour autant que le reste de la planète traite avec elle d’égale à égale, ce Continent dispose, quoiqu’on en dise, et quelle que soit la ‘confusion’ entretenue à son sujet, des moyens de cette politique.

A l’instar des pays asiatiques qui ont connu une trajectoire de rattrapage par rapport aux pays plus développés, sans investissements étrangers massifs, en finançant eux-mêmes les capitaux physiques et humains et en relevant leurs niveaux d’éducation et de formations, l’Afrique peut elle aussi prendre la voie d’une croissance économique à long terme. Le Botswana est là pour appuyer cette affirmation. La culture entrepreneuriale est bien vivante en Afrique. À nous d’aller à sa rencontre pour, ensemble et en partenaires co-responsables, créer le monde de demain. C’est ce que je vous souhaite pour 2018.