EDITO DRC June 2019

0
341

DRC: storm warning

After several delays and numerous developments, the electoral process initiated in 2016 finally led, avoiding a long feared chaos, to the inauguration on 24 January of Felix Tshisekedi as President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, succeeding Joseph Kabila who nevertheless retains, through his Common Front for Congo (FCC) platform, a very large majority in the National Assembly and the Senate.

The new President appointed the members of his cabinet at the beginning of March, but negotiations remain very challenging on the distribution of posts in the future government.

Meanwhile, the country is managed by a selected team of ministers in charge of current affairs, who are no longer able to exercise sufficient control over the actions of their administration. In addition, the lack of contacts for new projects is an obstacle to any new investment. 

At the same time, the public finance situation remains worrying and fragile, with an estimated budget deficit of US$151 million for the first quarter of 2019 and foreign currency stocks that represent only slightly more than the equivalent of 3 weeks imports (US$901 million at the end of April).

A policy of uncontrolled expenses with the limited financial resources available to the DRC could have disastrous consequences, with which the country has already been confronted.

NICT: a great opportunity for the DRC 

Africa, which has the youngest population in the world, has 200 million inhabitants between the ages of 15 and 24. Every year, nearly 12 million young Africans enter the employment market.

The Democratic Republic of Congo alone has 89 million inhabitants, 65% of whom are under 25.

In this context, and more than ever before, it is essential that these young people be able to create their own jobs rather than seek them.

For this purpose, after having been excluded from the first 3 industrial revolutions, Africa must be provided with the necessary tools to be a full-fledged actor in the 4th revolution, this time digital, which will bring the inexorable uberisation of all sectors of industry and services.

Many African countries have embarked on this race against time and, for the first time in the DRC, a position of Special Advisor for Digitalisation has been created in the cabinet of President Félix Tshisekedi.

All over Africa, young African entrepreneurs are leading the way in starting up digital platforms in priority sectors such as education, health care, financial services, agriculture and retail trade. 

The continent has more than 300 technology centres and 60 accelerators specialized. Given the creative and entrepreneurial potential of its youth, the DRC cannot afford to fall behind its neighbours in this area.

EDITO RDC Juin 2019

0
147

RDC : avis de tempête

Après plusieurs reports et de nombreux rebondissements, le processus électoral initié en 2016 a finalement abouti, en évitant un chaos longtemps redouté, à l’investiture le 24 janvier dernier de Félix Tshisekedi comme Président de la République Démocratique du Congo, succédant ainsi à Joseph Kabila qui conserve toutefois, via sa plateforme du Front Commun pour le Congo (FCC), une très large majorité à l’Assemblée Nationale et au Sénat.

Le nouveau Président a nommé les membres de son cabinet début mars mais les négociations demeurent très difficiles autour de la répartition des postes au sein du futur gouvernement. 

En attendant, le pays est géré par une équipe restreinte de ministres en charge des affaires courantes qui n’est plus en mesure d’exercer un contrôle suffisant sur les agissements de son administration. De plus, l’absence d’interlocuteurs pour de nouveaux projets constitue un obstacle à tout nouvel investissement.

Dans le même temps, la situation des finances publiques demeure préoccupante et fragile, avec un déficit budgétaire estimé à 151 millions $US pour le premier trimestre 2019 et des réserves de change qui ne représentent qu’un peu plus de l’équivalent de 3 semaines d’importations (901 millions $US à fin avril).

Une politique de dépenses non maîtrisées avec les ressources financières limitées dont dispose la RDC pourrait avoir de désastreuses conséquences, auxquelles le pays a déjà été confronté.

NTIC : une formidable opportunité pour la RDC 

L’Afrique, qui concentre la population la plus jeune de la planète, compte 200 millions d’habitants âgés entre 15 et 24 ans. Chaque année, ce sont près de 12 millions de jeunes africains qui entrent sur le marché du travail.

La République Démocratique du Congo, à elle seule, compte 89 millions d’habitants dont 65 % ont moins de 25 ans.

Dans ce contexte et plus que jamais, il est essentiel que cette jeunesse soit en mesure de créer ses emplois plutôt que de les chercher.

Pour cela, après avoir été exclue des 3 premières révolutions industrielles, l’Afrique doit se doter des outils nécessaires pour être un acteur à part entière de la 4ème révolution, numérique cette fois, qui va participer à l’ubérisation inexorable de tous les secteurs de l’industrie et des services.

De nombreux pays d’Afrique se sont engagés dans cette course contre la montre et, pour la première fois en RDC, un poste de Conseiller Spécial pour le numérique a été créé au sein du cabinet du Président Félix Tshisekedi.

Partout en Afrique, de jeunes entrepreneurs africains sont à l’initiative de start up sur des plateformes numériques dans les secteurs prioritaires de l’éducation, des soins de santé, des services financiers, de l’agriculture, du commerce de détail. 

Le continent regroupe ainsi plus de 300 pôles technologiques et 60 accélérateurs spécialisés dans les start up. La RDC ne peut pas se permettre, compte tenu du potentiel créatif et entrepreneurial de sa jeunesse, de se laisser distancer par ses voisins dans ce domaine.


JEAN-PHILIPPE WAERSCOOT
Réprésentant permanent
de la CBL-ACP en R.D.C
CEO TEXAF