Focus Kenya : Editorial

0
309

ACP, unity in diversity

Kenya, South Africa and Cuba, three countries at the focal point of this issue; three countries also belonging to a group formed by the countries of Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific, numbering 79 in totall. What unites these ACP countries is the common ambition of  sustainable development and a gradual integration in the global economy.

Where should we place these three countries in this vast scheme? According to a study published by Havas Horizons and the Choiseul Institute Kenya occupies a steadfast pole position in the ranking of countries most attractive for investors.  It is the example of the economic resurgence of Eastern Africa. According to the same study South Africa can rely on a stock market system that is one of the most dynamic in the whole of Africa. It allows companies to easily find the capital they need to ensure growth, while at the same time enabling the State to compensate its deficit.In Cuba the private sector continues its development in areas of trade, mobility, construction and industry. This ‘new economy’ is gradually taking shape and holds encouraging promises for the future of the island.

And so, three – very different – countries show proof of the variety the ACP label offers. Yet, different as they are, what these 79 countries have in common is their offer of a huge emerging global market fuelled by a growing middle class acting as driving force. Nonetheless, while the opportunities are plenty, attention should be given to specific local customs, the different stages of development should be considered, and the assimilation of the economy that was established over the years – be it informal or disrupted – must be paramount. Not to be overlooked either are external phenomena such as humanitarian crises or the fall in commodity prices, of late, both of whichare responsible for noticeably accentuating regional disparities.

On a parallel level, the “Cotonou Agreement”, i.e. the backbone of the partnership between the EU and the ACP countries, regarded as an “innovation” back in the year 2000, has witnessed a modified context in recent times. A new reality exists nowadays, be it geopolitical, security-related or migratory. The fight against terrorism and organised crime is top of mind among authorities to the detriment of economic, social and human aspects.

In view of these many, often conflicting signals a certain caution can’t be thrown to the wind. But if twenty odd years ago investing in ACP countries was labelled as idealism, ignoring them today would be seen as a grave mistake. Even if their intended economic integration into global markets hasn’t led to the expected positive results, these countries today do offer numerous and realistic opportunities. In order to seize these one should view them in all their complexity and nuances without being overly enthusiastic
whilst being mindful of the risks involved. And never forget that a partnership with local players often holds the key to success (knowledge of the local context, relevant human resources,
relationship with the public sector, product development, …).

For the members our Chamber, the CBL-ACP, with its counsellors, its local representatives and bilateral section chiefs, remains – now more than ever – the ultimate bridgehead to start the conquest of emerging economies based on growing diversification and important domestic markets.

Focus Kenya : Editorial

0
170

ACP, unité dans la diversité

Le Kenya, l’Afrique du Sud et Cuba, trois pays mis en exergue dans ce numéro ; trois pays du groupe des Etats d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique qui en compte 79.  Ces pays dits ACP ont en commun l’ambition d’un développement durable et d’une intégration progressive dans l´économie mondiale.

Comment situer ces trois pays dans ce vaste programme. Selon une étude publiée par Havas Horizons et l’Institut Choiseul, le Kenya truste la première place dans le classement des pays les plus attractifs pour les investisseurs prêts à y renforcer leurs investissements. Ce pays est l’exemple de la résurgence économique de l’Afrique de l’Est. Selon cette même étude l’Afrique du Sud dispose d’un système boursier parmi les plus dynamiques du continent africain. Les entreprises peuvent ainsi y trouver les capitaux nécessaires à leur croissance tandis que l’Etat y trouve une source de financement pour compenser son déficit. À Cuba le secteur privé poursuit son développement dans des domaines aussi divers que le commerce, la mobilité, la construction ou encore l’industrie. Cette ‘nouvelle économie’ prend forme et est encourageante pour l’avenir de l’ile.

Voici donc trois pays très différents démontrant la diversité que l’on retrouve sous le label ‘ACP’. Pourtant, aussi différents qu’ils soient, ces 79 pays ont en commun d’offrir aujourd’hui, avec une classe moyenne grandissante, véritable moteur de croissance, le plus vaste marché émergent du monde. Si les opportunités y sont aujourd’hui bien réelles, elles doivent cependant s’appréhender au regard des spécificités locales, intégrer les stades de développements différents et assimiler l’économie soit informelle soit déstructurée qui s’y est développée au fil du temps. Sans compter les éléments exogènes, tels que les crises humanitaires ou la baisse des prix des matières premières qui ont sensiblement accentués ces derniers temps les disparités régionales.

En parallèle, « l’accord de Cotonou », qui constitue l’ossature du partenariat entre l’Union européenne et les pays ACP et qui était vu comme novateur en 2000, a, au cours des dernières années, vu son contexte modifié. Une nouvelle réalité prévaut aujourd’hui qu’elle soit géopolitique, sécuritaire ou encore migratoire. Le combat contre le terrorisme et le crime organisé retient d’abord l’attention des responsables au détriment des aspects économiques, sociaux et humains.

Devant tant de signaux parfois aussi contradictoires il est évident qu’une certaine circonspection s’impose. Mais, s’il y a une vingtaine d’année, investir dans les pays ACP passait pour de l’idéalisme, les ignorer aujourd’hui apparaitrait comme une erreur. Même si leur intégration économique voulue sur les marchés mondiaux n’a pas donné les résultats positifs escomptés, ces pays offrent aujourd’hui de nombreuses et réelles opportunités commerciales. Pour les saisir il faut, sans enthousiasme excessif et en restant conscient des risques, les envisager dans toutes leurs complexités et leurs nuances et en ayant à l’esprit qu’un partenariat avec les acteurs locaux constitue souvent les clés de la réussite (contenu local, ressources humaines pertinentes, relations avec les pouvoirs publics, conception des produits…).

Aujourd’hui plus que jamais notre Chambre, la CBL-ACP, avec ses conseillers, ses représentants locaux et ses chefs de sections bilatérales, reste pour ses membres le meilleur support pour partir à la conquête de ces économies émergentes soutenues par une diversification grandissante et un marché domestique important.

 

Guy Bultynck
Chairman, CBL-ACP