The African Napoléon code

0
857

After having highlighted Congo (the Democratic Republic of the Congo) in our last issue, it is now the other Congo (the Republic of the Congo) that draws our attention. Two Congo’s, two countries owing their names and their roots to the same ancestral kingdom of Kongo; two countries, whose regions despite their proximity have always had their own genetic identity in social, cultural and even economic matters. This diversity, which can also be found in the other regions or nations that form the Continent, is one of the essential building blocks of Africa.

Yet over time a lot has been done to even out the differences. Already the Berlin Conference tried to unify the living environment of many different African populations, who found themselves trapped in a singular administrative constituency by the fortunes of a random geographical demarcation. Later, two different approaches attempted to mould this cultural diversity into colonial standards: one by denying the diversity through assimilation with the system of the coloniser; the other by levelling it off into servitude.

Today, under a cosmopolitan guise and with few exceptions, systems of government – initiated in other parts of the world (with some success) – are imported into Africa, in order to create a melting-pot of individuals thrown together in the same mould.

In this respect and while talking about black Africa, and at the risk of sounding iconoclastic, I have always found it difficult to see the “Code Napoléon” being sneaked into national Constitutions. As if local populations wouldn’t have been able to survive hundreds of years just abiding by their own values. I’ve never understood why patriarchy was prescribed for a society where the organisational structure had always rested on matriarchal pillars. I’ve always stood perplexed at the introduction – under the pretext of democracy – of a one single reference system of so-called universal suffrage elections, when consensus had always been the reference. I’ll stop here, examples of similar aberrations come in numbers.

Is it necessary to say that this is where we find the roots of the chronic instability, that lies at the core of recurring economic crises and human tragedies? Sometimes the mere mention of the word “elections” sounds to me as the chronicle of murders waiting to happen. All of this just to point out that if Africa is THE continent where a manifest development should take place in the coming years, it is also clear, that entrance is and will be reserved to those who will approach its rich market knowingly and with respect of its diversity.

To help its members, the CBL-ACP places at their disposal networks of local agents but also the heads of its bilateral sections, who much more than anyone else can guide them safely through this tortuous but at the same time promising maze.

 

 

Guy Bultynck
Chairman, CBL-ACP

Le code Napoléon Africain

0
864

Après avoir mis en exergue dans notre dernier numéro le Congo (République Démocratique du Congo), c’est cette fois l’autre Congo (la République du Congo) qui retient notre attention. Deux « Congo », deux pays qui tirent leur nom et leurs racines du même royaume ancestral du Congo ; deux pays dont les régions, malgré leur proximité, ont toujours possédé chacun, dans la profondeur de leurs gènes respectifs, une identité propre tant sur le plan social, culturel et même économique. Cette diversité qui se retrouve également parmi les autres régions ou nations qui forment le Continent est une des composantes essentielles de l’Afrique.

Pourtant au fil du temps beaucoup a été fait pour raboter ces différences. Déjà la Conférence de Berlin avait tenté d’uniformiser le cadre de vie des différents peuples africains qui se trouvaient, par les hasards d’un découpage géographique aléatoire, dans une même circonscription administrative. Par la suite, deux approches différentes ont essayé de mouler cette diversité de culture dans la norme coloniale : l’une en la niant par l’assimilation au système du colonisateur ; l’autre en la nivelant dans la servitude.

Et aujourd’hui, sous prétexte cosmopolite, on importe en Afrique, à de très rares exceptions près, des systèmes de gouvernance initiés sous d’autres latitudes (avec plus ou moins de succès !) afin de créer un « melting-pot » censé intégrer les individus dans un même moule.

À ce propos et en parlant de l’Afrique Noire, au risque de paraître iconoclaste, j’ai toujours éprouvé des difficultés à voir le « Code Napoléon » subrepticement intégré dans des constitutions nationales. Comme si les populations locales n’avaient pas pu vivre pendant des centaines d’années sur base de leurs propres valeurs. Je n’ai jamais compris pourquoi le patriarcat était prescrit à une société dont la base de l’organisation sociale reposait sur le matriarcat. J’ai toujours été perplexe de voir sous prétexte de démocratie, imposer comme seul système de référence des élections au suffrage (dit !) universel alors que le consensus a toujours été la référence. Je vais m’arrêter ici mais les exemples de pareilles aberrations sont légion.

Est-il nécessaire de dire que se trouvent ici les origines d’une instabilité chronique qui a engendré des crises économiques et des drames humains à répétition ? Parfois la seule évocation du mot élection sonne pour moi comme la chronique de morts annoncées. Tout cela pour dire que si l’Afrique est LE Continent qui devrait connaître un développement manifeste dans les années qui suivent, il est tout aussi évident que son approche est et restera réservée à celles et à ceux qui, respectueux de ses diversités, aborderont ce fabuleux marché en connaissance de cause.

Pour aider ses membres, la CBL met à leur disposition ses réseaux de représentants sur place mais aussi ses responsables des sections bilatérales qui mieux que quiconque sont capables de les guider dans ce dédale sinueux mais aussi très prometteur.

 

Guy Bultynck
Chairman, CBL-ACP