The Blue Economy – A bridge between the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Republic of Cabo Verde

0
314

The sea is the future of Earth. Message received loud and clear in Luxembourg.

Getting into the blue economy is an unusual choice for a landlocked country, but it turns out to be a successful diversification policy in this case for Luxembourg. The Luxembourg maritime sector consists of  six poles of economic activities and value creation that are : maritime logistics, service delivery, shipping, maritime safety and security, shipbuilding and research.

Let’s start with maritime logistics that is vital to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. While 90% of foreign trade of the European Union and 40% of its internal trade pass through the sea, it is unimaginable that a country remains cut off from the sea, even in the case of landlocked country. Luxembourg has managed to develop efficient infrastructure that relativize its isolation and facilitate the movement of goods from and to the North Sea, the Hanseatic and Mediterranean ports. At the forefront of this infrastructure :  dry container port (Terminal Bettembourg) and the river port (Mertert).

The presence of shipowners and offshore vessels operators in Luxembourg enables the country to access to the various business and financial opportunities offered by the maritime trades. The existence, in the country, of a merchant navy is a second opening-factor. The Luxembourg maritime register, which has just celebrated its twenty-five aniversary, is rich of 225 commercial vessels (February 2016)  for a volume of 2.8 million tons. Ship owners, shipping companies and dredging companies have « anchored » in Luxembourg mainly for two reasons: the existence of a general regime favorable to investors and a maritime administration recognized for its quality and professionalism. A last factor : many offshore extraction platforms are held by Luxembourg companies.

The creation, in 1990, of a maritime register in the Grand Duchy and the immatriculation of many vessels led to the creation of several related economic activities in the local banks, law firms, consulting companies, and insurance companies. This urged the financial sector to develop products and services for the maritime industry professionals. Luxembourg has sheltered investment funds in the blue economy ; it also provides opportunities for Islamic finance. The diversity of  the 56 companies gathered in Luxembourg Maritime Cluster perfectly illustrates the many ramifications of the merchant maritime sector in the more traditional sectors of the Grand Duchy’s economy.

Luxembourg’s expertise in safety and maritime security is less visible, although the country’s participation in anti-piracy operations in the Horn of Africa has not failed to attract the attention of the press . The know-how in this field, controlled by several companies with global reach, ensures maritime surveillance missions, fight against piracy / trafficking and pollution. It also supplies telecommunication solutions for monitoring and contact from the mainland with high-sea vessels. Training is also provided in this area by Luxembourg companies.

The shipbuilding sector is also present in the Grand Duchy. Steel, that is the most important building material for ships, has a long tradition in Luxembourg. The famous Indian company ArcelorMittal organizes the development of its business with shipyards from Luxembourg. The country is also at the forefront of research in new materials and provides equipment to reduce the environmental impact of ships’ navigation (wastewater treatment, flue gas). A famous shipyard is currently implementing its purchasing center in the Grand Duchy and will therefore more easily tap into the local supply.

Le Luxembourg abrite plusieurs centres de recherche ainsi que des entreprises à la pointe de l’innovation. Depuis quelques années, le pays voit émerger une expertise en matière de biologie marine. Cette évolution participe au rayonnement intellectuel et scientifique du Luxembourg, mais surtout à l’avancée de la recherche.

Luxembourg is now hosting several research centers and companies that are at the forefront of innovation. In recent years, the country has got some solid expertise in marine biology, this development is now a part of the intellectual and scientific influence of Luxembourg and contributes to the success of the research in that field.

The Luxembourg maritime cluster : an association serving this emerging sector

Aware of its importance and its positive impact on Luxembourg’s economy, the Luxembourg maritime sector began to organize from 2008. The non-profit organization Luxembourg Maritime Cluster was born from this consolidation project . With its 56 members representing all maritime professions, the maritime cluster is the voice of what people use to call the « Luxembourg blue economy ». Through its actions and programs, it promotes the sector’s activities, secures its players and helps in strengthening local expertise. Moreover, the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster is curently holding the vice-presidency and the General Secretariat of the European Network of Maritime Clusters (ENMC).

More information : www.cluster-maritime.lu

Achievements and Maritime cluster of projects in Cabo Verde

Since 2013 and with the unwavering support of the Embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to Cabo Verde, the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster has developed closer ties with the archipelago and specifically its counterpart, the Cluster Do Mar. After fifteen meetings, the idea of further cooperation has emerged, an idea that resulted in March 2015 with the signing of an MOU between the two clusters on the occasion of the state visit of His Royal Highness, the Grand Duke of Luxembourg.

This collaboration culminated with the presence of the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster and seven of its members at EXPOMAR fair in November 2015, alongside the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce and the Commissioner of Maritime Affairs. Early 2016, the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster has received His Excellency Prime Minister José Maria Neves and HE Ms. Leonesa Fortes, Minister of Tourism, Investment and Enterprise Development on the occasion of a seminar on  business opportunities in Cabo Verde. Tese meetings resulted in huge progresses in the management of several projects.

The members of the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster are exploring many possibilities in Cabo Verde. For instance, BIM company is completing the draft of a study on the new international register of ships of Cabo Verde whose goal is to make a quality register and a tool for economic growth. This will lead to job creation that will employ students from the University of Cape Verde’s School of the Sea and  the creation of related economic activities (in ports, but also among service providers, just like in Luxembourg).

A Franco-Belgian-Luxembourg consortium has been selected as part of the international tender for the operation of the sub-concession of the shipyard of Mindelo (CABNAVE). The approach is to change CABNAVE into a true economic platform for the northern islands of the archipelago. Concerning the surveillance of the Exclusive Economic Zone of Cabo Verde, Luxembourg has sent a series of commercial proposals that guarantee a full coverage of the maritime space with the superposition of oceanographic and satellite data, reconnaissance and observation on area through surveillance aircraft or VMS equipment. Water purification, dredging and reconstruction of beaches programs are also studied.

In the past,  relations between the two countries were based on culture and cooperation. However,  they are now enriched with a commercial dimension. The objectives of the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster are to be considered as of long term. The association and its members strongly believe in the huge potential of the archipelago as West African bridgehead (ECOWAS) to the Portuguese-speaking countries. Therefore, a Cape Verdean responsible for communication (Ms Aleida Semedo) was recruited in January 2016 for an initial period of six months to assist the association in developping business relationships on both sides, listen to needs and requirements, provide win – win solutions and look for financing solutions.

shutterstock_132218177La mer est l’avenir de la Terre – Un message reçu cinq sur cinq au Luxembourg

Se lancer dans l’économie bleue est un choix atypique pour un pays enclavé, mais s’avère être dans le cas du Luxembourg une réussite de la politique de diversification. Le secteur maritime luxembourgeois s’articule en effet désormais autour de six pôles d’activité économique et de création de valeur que sont la logistique maritime, la prestation de services, la marine marchande, la sécurité et la sûreté maritimes, la construction navale et la recherche.

Commençons par logistique maritime qui est vitale pour le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Alors que 90% du commerce extérieur de l’Union européenne et 40% de son commerce intérieur transitent par la mer, il est inimaginable qu’un pays ne reste coupé de la mer, et ce même et surtout dans le cas d’un pays enclavé. Le Luxembourg a su se doter d’infrastructures performantes qui relativisent cet enclavement et facilitent l’acheminement de marchandises à partir des et vers les ports de la Mer du Nord, de la Hanse et de Méditerranée. Au premier rang de ces infrastructures, citons le port sec de conteneurs (Terminal de Bettembourg) et le port fluvial (Mertert).

La présence, au Luxembourg, d’armateurs et d’opérateurs de navires de haute mer permet au pays d’accéder aux diverses opportunités commerciales et financières offertes par les métiers maritimes. L’existence d’une marine marchande grand-ducale est un second facteur de désenclavement. Le registre maritime luxembourgeois, qui vient de souffler vingt-cinq bougies, compte 225 navires de commerce en février 2016 pour un volume de 2,8 millions de tonnes. Les armateurs, les compagnies maritimes et les sociétés de dragage ont jeté l’ancre à Luxembourg pour principalement deux raisons : l’existence d’un régime général favorable aux investisseurs et d’une administration maritime reconnue pour sa qualité et son professionnalisme. Notons aussi qu’un grand nombre de plateformes d’extraction offshore sont détenues à partir de sociétés luxembourgeoises.

La création d’un registre maritime au Grand-Duché en 1990 a entraîné dans le sillage des nombreux navires immatriculés une création d’activités économiques connexes dans les banques de la place, les cabinets d’avocats, les sociétés de conseil, les compagnies d’assurance. Elle a incité la place financière à développer des produits et services à destination des professionnels du secteur maritime. Le Luxembourg a ainsi abrité des fonds d’investissements dans l’économie bleue et offre des débouchés en matière de finance islamique. La diversité des 56 entreprises rassemblées dans le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois illustre parfaitement les nombreuses ramifications du secteur de la marine marchande dans les secteurs plus traditionnels du tissu économique du Grand-Duché.

L’expertise luxembourgeoise en matière de sécurité et de sûreté maritime est moins visible, même si la participation du pays aux opérations de lutte anti-piraterie dans la corne de l’Afrique n’a pas manqué d’attirer l’attention de la presse. Le savoir-faire en la matière, qui se concentre entre les mains de plusieurs entreprises au rayonnement mondial, permet d’assurer des missions de surveillance maritime, de lutte contre la piraterie, les trafics et la pollution, mais aussi de proposer des solutions de télécommunication pour assurer le suivi et le contact avec les navires de haute mer à partir de la terre ferme. Des formations sont également dispensées dans ce domaine par des sociétés luxembourgeoises.

Le secteur de la construction navale est également représenté au Grand-Duché. L’acier, matériau de construction par excellence des navires, est une longue tradition au Luxembourg. La société ArcelorMittal organise même le développement de ses affaires avec les chantiers navals à partir du Luxembourg. Le pays est également à la pointe de la recherche sur les nouveaux matériaux et propose en outre des équipements pour réduire l’impact environnemental des navires (retraitement des eaux, des fumées). Un chantier naval implante actuellement son centre d’achats au Grand-Duché et pourra ainsi puiser plus aisément dans l’offre locale.

Le Luxembourg abrite plusieurs centres de recherche ainsi que des entreprises à la pointe de l’innovation. Depuis quelques années, le pays voit émerger une expertise en matière de biologie marine. Cette évolution participe au rayonnement intellectuel et scientifique du Luxembourg, mais surtout à l’avancée de la recherche.

 

Le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois, une association au service de ce secteur émergent

Conscient de son importance et de ses retombées positives dans l’économie luxembourgeoise, le secteur maritime luxembourgeois a commencé à s’organiser et se structurer à partir de 2008. L’’association à but non lucratif Cluster maritime luxembourgeois est née de cette volonté de regroupement. Fort de ses 56 membres représentant tous les métiers maritimes, le Cluster maritime est la voix de l’économie luxembourgeoise dite « bleue ». Par ses actions, il promeut le secteur, solidarise ses acteurs et participe au renforcement de l’expertise locale. De plus, le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois assure la Vice-présidence et le Secrétariat général de l’European Network of Maritime Clusters (ENMC).

Informations sur l’association, ses membres et son activité : http://www.cluster-maritime.lu

 

Réalisations et projets du Cluster maritime au Cabo Verde

Depuis 2013 et avec le soutien indéfectible de l’Ambassade du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg au Cabo Verde, le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois a développé des liens renforcés avec l‘archipel et plus précisément son homologue, le Cluster Do Mar. Une quinzaine de rencontres ont fait germer l’idée d’une coopération plus poussée, idée qui s’est traduite en mars 2015 par la signature d’un protocole d’entente entre les deux clusters à l’occasion de la visite d’Etat de Son Altesse Royale le Grand-Duc.

Cette collaboration a culminé lors de la présence du Cluster maritime luxembourgeois et de sept de ses membres au salon EXPOMAR en novembre 2015, aux côtés de la Chambre de Commerce du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et du Commissariat aux affaires maritimes. Début 2016, le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois a reçu Son Excellence le Premier Ministre José Maria Neves et Son Excellence Mme Leonesa Fortes, Ministre du Tourisme, de l’Investissement et du Développement des Entreprises, à l’occasion d’un séminaire sur les opportunités d’affaires au Cabo Verde. Cette série de rencontres a permis de voir aboutir ou d’avancer différents projets.

Les membres du Cluster maritime luxembourgeois explorent de nombreuses pistes au Cabo Verde. La société BIM achève par exemple de rédiger une étude sur le nouveau registre international de navires du Cabo Verde dont le but est d’en faire un registre de qualité et un vecteur de croissance économique, avec à la clé, la création d’emplois pour absorber les élèves de l’Ecole de la Mer de l’Université du Cabo Verde et la création d’activités économiques connexes (dans les ports, mais aussi chez les prestataires de services à l’exemple du Luxembourg). Un consortium franco-belgo-luxembourgeois a été présélectionné dans le cadre de l’appel d’offres international pour l’exploitation de la sous-concession du chantier naval de Mindelo (CABNAVE). La stratégie avancée vise à transformer CABNAVE en un véritable poumon économique pour les îles du nord de l’archipel. En matière de surveillance de la Zone Economique Exclusive du Cabo Verde, le Luxembourg a envoyé une série de propositions commerciales qui mises bout à bout permettraient une couverture complète de l’espace maritime grâce à la superposition de données océanographiques et satellitaires et l’adjonction de moyens de reconnaissance et d’observations sur zone grâce à des avions de surveillance ou à du matériel VMS. Des projets de retraitement des eaux, de dragage et de reconstitution des plages sont également à l’étude.

Alors que les relations entre les deux pays reposaient jusqu’à présent sur la culture et la coopération, celles-ci se sont donc enrichies d’une dimension commerciale. Les objectifs poursuivis par le Cluster maritime luxembourgeois s’inscrivent dans le long terme. L’association et ses membres croient au fort potentiel de l’archipel comme tête de pont en Afrique de l’Ouest (espace CEDEAO) et vers les pays lusophones. A ce titre une chargée de communication capverdienne (Mme Aleida Semedo) a été recrutée en janvier 2016 pour une période initiale de six mois afin d’aider l’association à développer des relations d’affaires de part et d’autre, écouter les besoins, proposer des solutions gagnant – gagnant et rechercher des solutions de financement.

 

Paul Marceul
Manager du Cluster maritime luxembourgeois