Turbulence 

0
86

The DRC is undergoing a serious political and institutional crisis, which has major repercussions on the economic activity of the whole country with a marked deterioration in the living conditions of its populations.

New movements of armed resistance, particularly in Kasai, undermine the authority of Kinshasa, fuel a spiral of violence and worry neighboring countries.

In particular, Angola, already weakened by the decline in its oil revenues, fears contagion on its territory of the violence observed in the Kasai, with the inevitable induced population displacements.

On the economic front, the Congolese franc lost nearly 40% of its value against the dollar in a few months, threats to fuel supplies and foreign exchange reserves reached a worrying level.

Lack of insight into the political and security situation in the country is a source of concern for potential new investors and is hampering the activities of existing operators. This slowdown in economic activity mechanically reduces government revenues and its ability to balance its budget, a significant part of which concerns the financing of the electoral process postponed at the end of this year.

The 2017 Finance Bill provides for a significant increase in the state budget compared to 2016, while all indicators confirm a general decline in economic activity. It favors increasing the fiscal and parafiscal pressure on formal sector enterprises, instead of a voluntarist and ambitious policy of broadening the tax base for operators in the informal economy, which does not contribute to the the State.

This informal activity is largely fueled by contraband products from cross-border trade. While this situation temporarily pacifies certain social tensions by enabling people to access essential necessities at low cost, it is to the detriment of many jobs lost in the DRC in the sectors thus subjected to such unfair competition.

Moreover, texts such as the Agricultural Law promulgated in 2011 and more recently the Law on Subcontracting considerably restrict the scope of action of foreign companies in the DRC by discriminatory measures. This is a strategic mistake.

Faced with this very bleak assessment, the priority of the DRC is to emerge from the social and political crisis in which it inexorably sinks.

From an economic point of view, promoting entrepreneurship for small and medium-sized enterprises, as a means of creating value and growth, will require training, education, exemplarity, access to capital, exchanges with Partners, and governance. It can not be built sustainably on isolationism, protectionism and withdrawal.

A major project is being set up by the Government to revise taxation in the DRC. Perhaps a ray of hope in this difficult context. Let us hope that it isn’t, once again, an illusion.

Turbulences

0
380

La RDC traverse une crise politique et institutionnelle grave, qui a des répercussions majeures sur l’activité économique de l’ensemble du pays avec une nette dégradation des conditions de vie de ses populations.

De nouveaux mouvements de résistance armée, notamment au Kasaï, fragilisent l’autorité de Kinshasa, alimentent une spirale de la violence et inquiètent les pays limitrophes.

Plus particulièrement, l’Angola, déjà fragilisé par la baisse de ses revenus pétroliers, redoute une contagion sur son territoire des violences observées dans le Kasaï, avec les inévitables déplacements de population induits.

Sur le plan économique, le franc congolais a perdu en quelques mois près de 40 % de sa valeur par rapport au dollar, des menaces pèsent sur l’approvisionnement en carburants et les réserves de change ont atteint un niveau préoccupant.

L’absence de vue sur l’évolution de la situation politique et sécuritaire du pays inquiète les nouveaux investisseurs potentiels et fige les activités des opérateurs déjà installés. Ce ralentissement de l’activité économique réduit mécaniquement les recettes de l’Etat et sa capacité à équilibrer son budget, dont une partie conséquente concerne le financement du processus électoral reporté à la fin de cette année.

Le projet de loi de finance 2017 prévoit une augmentation sensible du budget de l’Etat par rapport à 2016 alors que tous les indicateurs confirment une baisse générale de l’activité économique. Il privilégie l’augmentation de la pression fiscale et parafiscale sur les entreprises du secteur formel, au lieu d’une politique volontariste et ambitieuse d’élargissement de l’assiette fiscale aux opérateurs de l’économie informelle, qui ne contribue pas au budget de l’Etat.

Cette activité informelle est largement alimentée par les produits de contrebande issus du commerce transfrontalier. Si cette situation apaise temporairement certaines tensions sociales en permettant aux populations d’avoir accès à des produits de premières nécessité à bas coûts, c’est au détriment de nombreux emplois perdus en RDC dans les secteurs ainsi soumis à une telle concurrence déloyale.

De plus, des textes comme la loi agricole promulguée en 2011 et, plus récemment, la loi sur la sous-traitance restreignent considérablement le champ d’action des entreprises étrangères en RDC par des mesures discriminatoires. Il s’agit d’une erreur stratégique.

Face à ce bilan fort sombre, la priorité de la RDC est de sortir de la crise sociale et politique dans laquelle elle s’enfonce inexorablement.

Sur le plan économique, la promotion de l’entreprenariat pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, vecteurs de création de valeur et de croissance, passera par la formation, l’éducation, l’exemplarité, l’accès aux capitaux, les échanges avec les partenaires étrangers, et la gouvernance. Elle ne peut se construire durablement sur l’isolationnisme, le protectionnisme et le repli sur soi.

Un important chantier est mis en place par le Gouvernement pour la refonte de la fiscalité en RDC. Peut-être une lueur d’espoir dans ce contexte difficile. Faisons le voeu qu’il ne s’agisse, encore une fois, d’une illusion.

 

JEAN-PHILIPPE WATERSCHOOT

Délégué permanent de la CBL-ACP en RDC
Administrateur de la CBL-ACP – représentant du groupe TEXAF