EDITO Juin 2020

0
755

On the eve of the 60th anniversary of its independence, the DRC is going through a major institutional crisis, reflecting deep divergences within the ruling CASH coalition and strong tensions with the outgoing President’s FCC coalition, which has a majority in Parliament and Senate as well as in provincial governments.

The Executive is also weakened by several corruption scandals cases brought before the courts, involving in particular the Chief of Staff of the Head of State and several managers of public enterprises.

Public finances are directly affected by the fall in commodity prices and the slowdown in the world economy due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

In Kinshasa, a megalopolis of more than 12 million inhabitants, many of whom survive on precarious employment in the informal sector, quarantine and containment measures have been applied in the commune of Gombe, where the business centre and most of the administration are situated.

It is to be feared that if the situation continues without accompanying measures, the remedy could turn out more harmful than the disease and will plunge a large part of the Congolese population into even greater poverty.

Indeed, this virus has been brutally disrupting our lives for several months now.

What was normal then is not anymore. Commercial flights have been stopped in most parts of the world. Going to work or to school, walking, shopping, hugging family and friends is forbidden because it is considered dangerous in many countries.

We have become incredulous and powerless spectators of the morbid and anxiety-provoking tally that has invaded all the media. The confusion is all the more important as it is fuelled by contradictory information, fake news, rumours, conspiracy theories and propaganda circulating on social networks.

The worst was feared for the African continent, particularly because of the weakness of its health system. The youthfulness of its population fortunately appears to be a major asset against this virus, one feature being its lethality among the elderly.

Mid-June, the DRC counted 130 deaths attributed to Covid-19.

A tremendous amount of energy is being dedicated in many laboratories around the world to find a vaccine against this virus. Colossal financial resources are being deployed to combat it, but wouldn’t it be just as necessary to fight, through a radical change in our lifestyles, against the reasons that make this virus so dangerous: hypertension, diabetes and obesity?

Should we not react with as much collective energy to the risk of ecological collapse and the death of millions of children every year of starvation?

Should we not be as firmly engaged and willing to fight, for example, against the measles virus, responsible for more than 6,000 deaths in the DRC last year, in deafening silence? This disease, which can be fought with a safe and effective vaccine, has killed more than 140,000 people worldwide in 2019, mostly babies and young children…

EDITO Juin 2020

0
897

A la veille du 60ème anniversaire de son indépendance, la RDC traverse une importante crise institutionnelle, traduisant de profondes divergences au sein de la coalition CASH au pouvoir et de vives tensions avec la coalition FCC du Président sortant, majoritaire au Parlement et au Sénat ainsi que dans les gouvernements provinciaux.

L’Exécutif est également fragilisé par plusieurs scandales de corruption, impliquant notamment le Directeur de Cabinet du Chef de l’Etat et plusieurs responsables d’entreprises publiques, pour lesquels la justice a été saisie.

Les finances publiques sont directement impactées par la baisse des cours des matières premières et par le ralentissement de l’économie mondiale dû à la pandémie du Covid-19.

A Kinshasa, mégapole de plus de 12 millions d’habitants dont une grande partie survit grâce à des emplois précaires dans le secteur informel, des mesures de quarantaine et de confinement ont été appliquées sur la commune de Gombe qui abrite le centre des affaires et la plupart des administrations.

Il est à craindre que si la situation perdure sans mesures d’accompagnement, le remède se révèle plus redoutable que le mal et plonge une grande partie des congolais dans encore plus de pauvreté.

En effet, ce virus a brutalement bouleversé nos vies depuis plusieurs mois.

Tout ce qui était normal ne l’est soudainement plus. Les vols aériens commerciaux sont arrêtés sur l’essentiel de la planète. Aller travailler, se promener, faire ses courses, aller à l’école, embrasser ses proches, ses amis est interdit, car considéré comme dangereux dans de nombreux pays.

Nous sommes devenus spectateurs incrédules et impuissants du décompte morbide et anxiogène qui a envahi tous les médias. La confusion est d’autant plus importante qu’elle est alimentée par des informations contradictoires, des fake news, des rumeurs, des théories du complot et de propagandes circulant sur les réseaux sociaux.

Le pire était redouté pour le continent africain, notamment en raison de la faiblesse de son système de santé. La jeunesse de sa population semble heureusement apparaître comme un atout majeur contre ce virus dont une caractéristique est sa létalité chez les personnes âgées.

La RDC compte à la mi-juin 130 décès imputés au Covid-19.

Une énergie formidable est déployée dans de nombreux laboratoires dans le monde pour trouver un vaccin contre ce virus. Des moyens financiers colossaux sont mis en œuvre pour le combattre mais ne serait-il pas tout aussi nécessaire de lutter, par un changement radical de nos modes de vie, contre les raisons qui rendent ce virus si dangereux : l’hypertension, le diabète et l’obésité ?

Ne devrions-nous pas réagir avec autant d’énergie collective au risque d’effondrement écologique et de la mort de faim de millions d’enfants, chaque année ?

Ne devrions-nous pas être aussi entreprenants et volontaires pour lutter, par exemple, contre le virus de la rougeole avec plus de 6.000 décès qui lui sont associés en RDC l’année dernière et cela dans un silence assourdissant ? Cette maladie, qui peut pourtant être combattue par un vaccin sûr et efficace a tué plus de 140.000 personnes dans le monde en 2019, principalement des bébés et de jeunes enfants…