The brilliant Antwerp industry

0
3977

Antwerp has been the nerve center of the diamond industry since the 15th century. In 2015, 84% of the world volume of rough diamonds passed through the economic capital of Flanders in Belgium. In the heart of the Diamond Quarter, the Antwerp World Diamond Center is the most important place of this industry where an impressive volume of 192.6 million carats of rough and polished diamonds imported and exported valued at 48.3 Billion dollars transits. Here we meet the actor who certifies the origin of the diamonds and thus guarantees the quality of the “made in Antwerp”. 1

The purity, the hardness and the brilliance of diamonds make you dream and give an important value to these stones. The sector, which has been deployed in Antwerp since the Renaissance, now ranks 4th in the ranking of the goods trade industry. In Belgium, the sector represents 6,600 direct jobs and 26,000 indirect jobs. Around the world, Antwerp is known for its “Cut in Antwerp” label, a special and quality cut given to diamonds by Antwerp tailors. Our editorial team went to the backstage of the diamond players who, through their knowledge, make Antwerp capital city of the purest stone in the world.

A few steps away from Antwerp Central Station, a security gantry guarded by soldiers and security guards show you that you are enterring the “Diamond Square Mile”, also known as the Diamond Quarter. The industry is concentrated in these few streets where the Diamond Exchange and the Antwerp World Diamond Center provide buyers and sellers with rough and polished diamond. Tourists and professionals mix in these alleys, all share the same fascination when a pure diamond sublimes the light of day. This landscape that seems so natural today has not always been the same.

Since when has  Antwerp been the city of diamonds?

The sector of the diamond cutting industry appeared in Antwerp at the end of the 15th century. Until then, it was Bruges that was the center of the sector. However, Antwerp, with its commercial and communication infrastructure quickly becomes a must for diamond cutters. It is the journey of Vasco da Gama from Lisbon to India, which created a new trading route between the ports of Lisbon and Antwerp, that made the Venice-Bruges route obsolete. 1

Despite the development of the port of Amsterdam in the second half of the 16th century, Antwerp maintained its dominant position, until the conquest of the city by Charles Quint. The treaty called Peace of Munster between the Netherlands and Spain resulted in the closure of the river Scheldt, resulting in the paralysis of the area and the sector. In 1863, the measure was lifted and diamonds discovered in South Africa in 1866 causes the revival of the famous Antwerp industry. An incessant flow of stones arrive in Europe via Antwerp and the number of cutters is constantly increasing. The Second World War will have serious consequences for the sector, dominated by the Jews in Antwerp. However, soon after the end of WWII,  the industry comes back to life and the diamond market flourishes again. India takes the business of the diamonds cut in the years 60/70 but Antwerp remains the most reliable center of negotiation and international trade.

How to import a diamond ?

When talking about the sale of diamonds, three key words stand out:

traceability, origin and value.

Full transparency is the« sine qua non » condition and the necessary mechanisms to guarantee it have been created. The time of Vasco de Gama is far away.

 

The diamond is a miracle of nature, unrivaled in its hardness and purity. A subtle blend of pressure, fossil materials and thousands of years are needed to achieve the unique hardness and brilliance of the diamond. Finding and exploiting diamonds is not easy. Ten years are necessary between the discovery of an area and its commercial exploitation. The control procedures of this rare stone are therefore multiple to ensure its authenticity.

The European Union is a common market, facilitating access to the markets of 28 countries for any importer. Any diamond accepted in the Union can therefore circulate freely. The entry conditions must therefore be clearly defined and controlled by an independent and reliable entity.

Antwerp, entrance gate of the diamond

European legislation governing the import and export of diamonds is clear and precise. Transposed in Belgium via the Royal Decree of April 30, 2004 the law specifies that the diamond goods must necessarily enter the territory by points of entry in Europe where the origin of the stones and their value must be controlled by the authorities.

Six entry points exist in Europe; Antwerp (Belgium), London (Great Britain), Idar-Oberstein (Germany), Lisbon (Portugal), Prague (Czech Republic), Bucharest (Romania) and Sofia (Bulgaria).

In Belgium, the diamond industry is composed of 1,700 companies specialized in diamond, registered with the SPF Finance and Economy. Antwerp is one of the most important entry points in the world, issuing 50% of Kimberley certificates (certificate that must accompany any stone and that determines its value, origin and country of export) worldwide.

Who determines the value of diamonds?

“Diamond is a safe and timeless value. Gold has a price of the day, but it is different in the diamond sector. The diamond industry is very important for Belgium, it represents 5% of all Belgian exports and 15% of exports outside the European Union. “Says Ari Epstein, CEO of the AWDC.

The “Rapaport Diamond Report” gives a price reference according to 4 characteristics determined and which are universal : Color, size, purity and carat weight. The name of this reference list comes from Martin Rapaport, the son of a diamonds cutter, who had worked in the industry in New York as a diamond broker since 1975. The fixed price lists have become unavoidable and, over the years, the RapNet  Interactive diamond market was born. This price list is recognized universally by industry players.

“The Antwerp World Diamond Center” was founded in 1973 in the form of the “Hoge Raad voor Diamant”, it was initiated by the Belgian government and representatives of the diamond industry. In 2007, the institution was restructured and divided into two different companies.

The first, the “Antwerp World Diamond Center” represents the interests of the sector and the city of Antwerp as the diamond capital, it is often considered as the voice of the sector, represented by its President Ari Epstein.

The AWDC is also the physical location of the European entry point for diamonds in Antwerp. The origin of the stones is controlled by an independent authority and a delegation of the Fiscal administration, the Customs Service is delegated permanently.

Each rough diamond that circulates in the world must be accompanied by a “Kimberly Certificate”, be sealed in a clearly identifiable secure container identified on the document. It is then easy to trace the origins of the stones accurately and unequivocally. The Center is responsible for the issuance of 50% of all Kimberly certificates worldwide. At the European level, 30,000 certificates are issued annually, almost all in Antwerp.

The name of the certificate comes from the city of Kimberly in South Africa, founded for diamond mining. It will also give the name to the “Kimberlite”, an ultramafic rock made of magnesium and iron, potassic and rich in incompatible elements.

The supervisory authority sends a notification to the customs office that a package is being sent. Customs may carry out a verification of the value of the goods as assessed by the independent authority. It must nevertheless be carried out within ten minutes. The goods are then checked in the presence of the seller or his representative and cleared. After this double control, the seller is free to dispose of his goods throughout the European Union.

The year 2015 was more difficult than the other years for the diamond industry. However, Antwerp can boast to keep its head high and continue to be a center of excellence recognized worldwide thanks to its 550 years of experience. An exceptional story that is part of the timelessness and exceptional brilliance of the most precious stone in the world.

La brillante industrie anversoise 

0
351

Anvers est le centre névralgique de l’industrie du diamant depuis le 15e siècle. En 2015, 84% du volume mondial des diamants bruts ont transité par la capitale économique de la Flandre. Au cœur du quartier des diamantaires, l’« Antwerp World Diamant Centre » est le centre névralgique de l’industrie où passe un volume impressionnant de 192,6 millions de carats de diamants bruts et polis importés et exportés pour une valeur de 48,3 billions de dollars. Rencontre avec l’acteur qui certifie l’origine des diamants et garantit ainsi la qualité du « made in Antwerp ».1

La pureté, résistance et l’éclat des diamants fait rêver et confèrent une valeur importante à cette pierre. Le secteur, qui s’est déployé à Anvers depuis la Renaissance, occupe aujourd’hui la 4e place dans le classement de l’industrie du commerce de biens. En Belgique, le secteur représente 6.600 emplois directs et 26.000 emplois indirects. A travers le monde, Anvers est connu pour son label du « Cut in Antwerp », coupe particulière et de qualité donnée aux diamants par les tailleurs anversois. Notre rédaction est partie à la découverte des coulisses des acteurs du diamant qui, au travers de leurs connaissances, font d’Anvers la capitale de la pierre la plus pure au monde.

A quelques pas de la gare centrale d’Anvers, un portique de sécurité gardé par des militaires et des gardes de sécurité marque l’arrivée des passants dans le « Diamond Square Mile », autrement connu sous le nom du quartier des diamantaires. L’industrie se concentre dans ces quelques rues où la bourse du diamant et l’Antwerp World Diamond Centre rassemblent les acheteurs et vendeurs de diamant bruts et polis. Touristes et professionnels se mélangent dans ces ruelles, tous partagent la même fascination lorsqu’un diamant pur sublime la lumière du jour. Ce paysage qui semble aujourd’hui tellement naturel n’a pourtant pas toujours été présent de la même manière.

Depuis quand Anvers est-il la ville des diamants ?
Le secteur de l’industrie de la taille du diamant arrive à Anvers dès la fin du 15e siècle. Jusque là, c’était Bruges qui était le centre névralgique du secteur mais Anvers, avec ses infrastructures et facilités commerciales et communicationnelles devient vite incontournable pour les tailleurs. C’est le voyage de Vasco de Gama de Lisbonne en Inde qui créé une nouvelle route commerçante entre les ports de Lisbonne et Anvers, rendant l’itinéraire Venise-Bruges obsolète.2

Malgré le développement du port d’Amsterdam dans la seconde moitié du 16e siècle, Anvers maintient sa position dominante, jusqu’à la conquête de la ville par Charles Quint. La Paix de Munster entre les Pays-Bas et l’Espagne eut pour conséquence la fermeture de l’Escaut, entraînant la paralysie du secteur. En 1863, la mesure fut levée et des diamants découverts en Afrique du Sud en 1866 font refleurir l’industrie anversoise. Un flux incessant de pierres arrive en Europe via Anvers et le nombre de tailleurs ne cesse d’augmenter. La deuxième guerre mondiale aura de graves conséquences sur le secteur, dominé par les Juifs à Anvers. Rapidement après la guerre, l’industrie reprend des couleurs et voit le marché du diamant refleurir. L’Inde reprend la taille des diamants à partir des années 60/70 mais Anvers reste le centre de négociation et commerce international connu et reconnu.

Importer un diamant, mode d’emploi
Lorsqu’on évoque la vente de diamants, trois mots clés ressortent : traçabilité, origine et valeur. Une transparence totale doit exister et les mécanismes nécessaires pour le garantir ont été créés. L’époque de Vasco de Gama est loin.

Le diamant est un miracle de la nature, inégalable de par sa résistance et pureté. Un mélange subtil de pression, matières fossiles et des milliers d’années sont nécessaires pour atteindre la résistance et l’éclat unique du diamant. Trouver et exploiter des diamants n’est pas une chose aisée. Dix ans s’écoulent entre la découverte d’une filière et son exploitation commerciale. Les procédures de contrôle de cette pierre rare sont donc multiples afin de s’assurer de son authenticité.

L’Union européenne est un marché commun, facilitant ainsi l’accès aux 28 pays pour tout importateur. Tout diamant accepté dans l’Union peut donc circuler librement. Les conditions d’entrée doivent donc être clairement définies et contrôlées par une entité indépendante et fiable.

Anvers, « entry point » du diamant
La législation européenne régissant l’importation et l’exportation des diamants est claire et précise. Transposée en Belgique via l’Arrêté Royal du 30 avril 2004. La loi précise que les marchandises de diamants doivent obligatoirement rentrer par des points d’entrée en Europe où l’origine des pierres et leur valeur doit être contrôlée par les autorités.

Six points d’entrée existent en Europe ; Anvers (Belgique), Londres (Grande-Bretagne), Idar-Oberstein (Allemagne), Lisbonne (Portugal), Prague (République Tchèque), Bucharest (Roumanie) et Sofia (Bulgarie).

En Belgique, l’industrie du diamant est composée de 1700 entreprises spécialisées dans le diamant, enregistrées auprès du SPF Finance et Economie. Anvers est l’un des points d’entrée les plus importants au monde, émettant 50% des certificats Kimberley (certificat qui doit accompagner toute pierre et détermine sa valeur, origine et pays d’exportation) au niveau mondial.

Qui détermine la valeur des diamants ?
« Le diamant est une valeur refuge et intemporelle. L’or connaît un prix du jour, mais cela n’existe pas dans le secteur du diamant. L’industrie du diamant est très importante pour la Belgique, car elle représente 5% de la totalité des exportations belges et 15% des exportations hors Union européenne. », confie Ari Epstein, CEO de l’AWDC.

Le « Rapaport Diamond Report » donne une référence de prix en fonction de 4 caractéristiques déterminés et qui sont universels ; la couleur, la taille, la pureté et le poids en carats. Le nom de cette grille de référence vient de Martin Rapaort, fils de diamantaire, qui a travaillé dans l’industrie à New York comme courtier en diamant brut depuis 1975. Les listes de prix établies sont devenues incontournables et au fil des années, le RapNet, marché du diamant interactif a vu le jour. La liste de prix est reconnue de manière universelle par les acteurs de l’industrie.

« L’Antwerp World Diamant Centre » existe depuis 1973 sous la forme du « Hoge Raad voor Diamant », il fut initié par le gouvernement belge et les représentants de l’industrie du diamant. En 2007, l’institution fut restructuré et divisée en 2 entreprises différentes. La première, l’ « Antwerp World Diamand Centre » représente les intérêts du secteur et de la ville d’Anvers comme capitale du diamant. L’AWDC est souvent considérée comme la voix du secteur, représentée par son Président Ari Epstein.

L’AWDC est également le lieu physique de l’entry point européen pour les diamants à Anvers. L’origine des pierres y est contrôlée par une autorité indépendante et une délégation du SPF Finances, service douane y est déléguée de manière permanente.

Chaque diamant brut qui circule dans le monde doit être accompagné d’un « certificat Kimberly », être scellé dans un contenant sécurisé clairement identifiable sur le certificat. Ils permettent ainsi de tracer les origines des pierres de manière exacte et non-équivoque. Le centre est responsable pour l’émission de 50% de la totalité des certificats Kimberly au niveau mondial. Au niveau européen, 30.000 certificats sont émis annuellement, presque tous à Anvers.

Le nom du certificat vient de la ville de Kimberly en Afrique du Sud, fondée pour l’exploitation du diamant. Elle donnera par ailleurs naissance à la « Kimberlite », roche ultramafique riche en magnésium et en fer, potassique et riche en éléments incompatibles ainsi qu’en volatilis.

L’autorité de contrôle envoie une notification à la douane prévenant qu’un colis est en route. Les douaniers peuvent effectuer une vérification de la valeur de la marchandise telle qu’évaluée par l’autorité indépendante. Elle doit néanmoins être réalisée endéans les dix minutes. La marchandise est ensuite contrôlée en présence du vendeur ou de son représentant et dédouanée. Après ce double contrôle, le vendeur est libre de disposer de sa marchandise pour libre circulation dans toute l’Union européenne.

L’année 2015 a été plus difficile que les autres années pour l’industrie du diamant. Malgré tout, Anvers peut se targuer de garder la tête haute et de continuer à être un centre d’excellence reconnu mondialement grâce à ses quelques 550 années d’expérience. Une histoire exceptionnelle qui s’inscrit tant dans l’intemporalité que l’éclat exceptionnel qu’offre la pierre la plus précieuse au monde.

 

1                 Chiffres 2015 – Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC)

2                 La suite de l’histoire du diamant sur notre site Internet :

www.cblacp-press.be ou scannez le QR code dans le texte.